Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019

Okay, so I’m gonna ‘cheat’ a little and do my TTT post on Wednesday because sometimes a week is rough and blogging doesn’t happen at all until the middle of the week. Well, that and I agonized over what would be in my list this week for far too much time to just skip this week (there were post-it notes and coin tosses and everything – it was a whole ordeal).

That being said, here are 10 of my most anticipated releases of the second half of 2019!
As always, my list is in no particular order because it was hard enough to limit it to 10, nonetheless put it in a ranked order.

Spin the Dawn by Elizabeth Lim Um, hi. When a book is described as ‘Mulan meets Project Runway’ I kinda have to read it? It’s inevitable. It’s meant to make its way into my life.
The Never Tilting World by Rin Chupeco I LOVE RIN CHUPECO. After The Bone Witch, I will read literally anything she writes. Also, this cover is gorgeous!!
Crier’s War by Nina Varela So this is a slow burn F/F enemies-to-lovers type fantasy? Is it possible to add more things I like? Oh, it’s also robots? Yeah. I need it. And I need it now.
Kingdom of Souls by Rena Barron Look at this cover! I’ve heard this has a really great magic system and world building as well as a couple comparisons to Wonder Woman? I’m in!
Girls of Storm and Shadow by Natasha Ngan So this is book two in a series where I loved book one! The cover is swoon-worthy. I’m expecting our main characters (a f/f couple!) to grow even more in this book. I’m actually wearing the necklace from the preorder of book one right now like I do most days because I love it and it ties in to a part of the story I thought was wonderful.
His Hideous Heart by Dahlia Adler A short story anthology of Poe retellings with an author list that makes me have the greatest of grabby hands (please see ‘I will read literally anything by Rin Chupeco’). I’ve had this preordered for a while and can’t wait until it arrives!
SLAY by Brittney Morris Not only is this about a black gamer girl but she’s a game developer (E3 just happened and it’s a huge reminder every year that the industry is largely white and male). I can’t WAIT! I’ve always been into books about video games since I read Heir Apparent (which I just learned in fetching the link is a sequel – WHAT?!) in middle school. I’ve also been assured by reviewers that the MC is indeed a badass. We stan. And again, look at the cover!!
War Girls by Tochi Onyebuchi I’ve read the author’s Beasts Made of Night series and while I liked it, I’m hoping that a lot of the issues I had with the series (the MC, Taj, was a total tool and a bit of a player) will be removed by having the protagonists in this book be female! It’s also recommended for fans of Nnedi Okorafor and Marie Lu so like, sign me up! See also: cover!!
A Dream So Dark by L. L. McKinney The sequel to A Blade So Black, and I’m expecting a lot from this! I adored book one in this fresh take on Alice in Wonderland and I can’t wait to go back to McKinney’s Wonderland again. And after how wonderful the cover for Blade was, Dream lives up to my expectations – the ink splatter card suites are so good!
The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh Another author on my auto-buy list. I must confess, I never really got too terribly into the vampire craze (as a monster lover, they rank at a pretty boring out of 10 on my monster scale along with werewolves) HOWEVER I’m willing to give loving vampires a go for Ahdieh!

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by Jana at http://www.thatartsyreadergirl.com/ so be sure to go check her out!

Are any of these books on your TBR? What are some of the releases for the later half of this year that you’re looking forward to? Tell me in the comments!

1 thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Most Anticipated Releases of the Second Half of 2019”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s